The Decemberists’ “Calamity Song” and Eschaton

I just remembered this video by The Decemberists for their song “Calamity Song” that depicts Eschaton and I thought I’d share. Enjoy.

About Bradley J. Fest

Bradley J. Fest lives and teaches in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. He has published a number of scholarly essays on contemporary literature and culture, and is the author of a volume of poetry, The Rocking Chair (Blue Sketch, 2015). He blogs regularly at The Hyperarchival Parallax.
This entry was posted in General Interest, Infinite Jest, Interactive Literature and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Decemberists’ “Calamity Song” and Eschaton

  1. endorphinique says:

    But will this one be on their set list when they play at the Benedum in March?? (I’ll report back on that.)

    I’m glad that this depiction of children playing Eschaton has, well, children. Someone critiquing my work the other day gave me the flattering compliment that, like Wallace, I can’t write kids that well. And as much as I love Wallace’s writing, it’s been a losing fight for me trying to defend the plausibility of children who speak and argue so eloquently, acting like the little ephebes they are instead of how I remember even the smartest students of my teenage years.

    I understand that an entire academy of these incredibly smart, talented kids exists in the same universe as a man who licks their sweat off in exchange for profound advice. But I feel like because of how well-spoken and clever and aware that many of these braniac kids are, I don’t picture, say, the 1963 cast of Lord of the Flies (too young?). I picture the 1990 cast (still too young? You get the point). And an older cast would remove so much of the hilarity and meaning behind the Eschaton.

    Like

Leave a Reply

